From Russia With Cats

My agent just sent me an e-mail letting me know we sold The Ghost Brigades in Russian. As they say: w00t! And to celebrate, I offer you this picture of a cat:

spirit0126b.jpg

The cat is not Russian (it is not even a Russian Blue), but its owner studied Russian in college — I know that much because I once held her flash cards while she was studying. And that’s a tenuous enough relationship for me.

Off to Philly a little later in the day. Maybe I’ll see some of you there.

10 thoughts on “From Russia With Cats

  1. Mari, I don’t think that’s a fat cat, it’s probably a bunched-up cat. She looks almost exactly like our cat, Momus (of blessed memory), who had the same large paws and could be streched out to 1 full metre. But when grooming he folded up into the mountain shape we see in this lovely animal.

  2. John,
    Even though I am, right now, mere blocks from where you’ll be this evening, I won’t be able to make it. (drat!)

    However, I wanted to take the time to let you know the following anecdote:

    If memory serves, I think I came to the Whatever via wilwheaton.net. I love his blog (when it’s not about Poker, anyhow), so I gladly checked you out. I’ve been back daily since. So, when you made mention of your books, I was curious. I like your writing style, no question…but would I like your fiction?

    Only one way to find out. So a few weeks back, I picked up GRR Martin’s new book and Old Man’s War (your announcment of its paperback release reminding me). I’d been waiting for the GRRM book (no offense) for some time, so I dove right in. About a week later, a friend dropped by, saw Old Man’s War sitting on the coffee table and asked what it was. I told him that it was a new SF book from a blogger I liked, in the vein of Henlien and Haldement (or so I’d heard). I then had some tasks to take care of, so I left him as he picked up the books.

    I came back about ten minutes later, he was lying on the couch reading the book. I went out to the store and came back. He was still reading. Other friends came by and we ate dinner. A few days later he calls me to tell me he liked the book so much he ran out to B&N and got a copy and then ordered Ghost Brigades, because it was that good.

    Today, I started OMW. It’s a mark of how good the writing is that I don’t even really care about any SF elements as the main character discusses his visit to his dead wife’s grave. I mean, DAMN.

    So I guess I’m just golf-clapping here, but I thought you should know (since the topic has come up) that your blog led to four book sales, FWIW.

  3. Friday Ark #71

    We’ll post links to sites that have Friday (plus or minus a few days) photos of their chosen animals (photoshops at our discretion and humans only in supporting roles). Watch the Exception category for rocks, beer, coffee cups, and….? We will add you…

Comments are closed.