Your Musical WTF Moment for a Sunday Afternoon

Max Raabe performs “Tainted Love” as if the Weimar Republic somehow made it to 1981. Which, you know, wouldn’t have been a bad thing, considering what the alternative was.

YouTube Poster

Mind the abrupt ending.

Ganked from here. Frankly, I’m too scared to click through and listen to their version of “Oops, I Did It Again.” On that path lies madness. Just ask Britney.


Sunday #BookHaul

More BookHaulery today, available to you here. Note I’ve caught up on 30 books over the last two days and I’ve hardly made a dent in the books I’ve recently received. Again: There are worse things in life.


2009 Nebula Winners

In case you were wondering:

Novel: Powers – Ursula K. Le Guin (Harcourt, Sept. 2007)

Novella: “The Spacetime Pool” – Catherine Asaro (Analog, March 2008)

Novelette: “Pride and Prometheus” – John Kessel (The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction, Jan. 2008)

Short Story: “Trophy Wives” – Nina Kiriki Hoffman (Fellowship Fantastic, Martin H. Greenberg and Kerrie Hughes, eds., DAW Books, January 2008)

Script: WALL-E – Andrew Stanton & Jim Reardon. Original story by Andrew Stanton & Pete Docter (Pixar, June 2008)

Andre Norton Award: Flora’s Dare: How a Girl of Spirit Gambles All to Expand Her Vocabulary, Confront a Bouncing Boy Terror, and Try to Save Califa from a Shaky Doom (Despite Being Confined to Her Room) – Ysabeau S. Wilce, (Harcourt, Sept. 2008)

Harry Harrison was honored as Damon Knight Grand Master, while M.J. Engh was honored as Author Emerita. Joss Whedon was named recipient of the Bradbury Award for excellence in screenwriting and Victoria Strauss was honored with 2009 SFWA Service Award for her work with Writer Beware. Additionally, SFWA inaugurated the new Solstice Award, bestowed upon individuals who have made a significant impact on the science fiction or fantasy landscape, and is particularly intended for those who have consistently made a major, positive difference within the speculative fiction field. Honorees for 2009 were Kate Wilhelm, Martin H. Greenberg and the late Algis Budrys.

Congrats to the winners and honorees!

Exit mobile version