The Campbell/Hugo Conversion Rate

This afternoon, and for no good reason other than my mind was wandering, I was curious about how many winners of the Campbell Award for Best New Writer then went on to win the Hugo Award for Best Novel (and, more generally, any of the short fiction Hugos). Here’s what I discovered.

Since the first awarding of the Campbell (in 1973, to Jerry Pournelle), four Campbell winners have also won the Best Novel Hugo: C.J. Cherryh (Campbell 1977; Hugo 1982); Orson Scott Card (Campbell 1978; Hugo 1986); Jo Walton (Campbell 2002; Hugo 2012) and me (Campbell 2006; Hugo 2013).

Other Campbell winners nominated for the Best Novel Hugo: Jerry Pournelle (won Campbell in 1973); R.A. MacAvoy (1984); Mary Doria Russell (1998); Nalo Hopkinson (1999); Cory Doctorow (2000); Naomi Novik (2007) and Seanan McGuire (2010, nominated for Best Novel as Mira Grant).

Campbell Winners who have won short fiction Hugos (if they have not otherwise won Best Novel): Spider Robinson (1974); Barry Longyear (1980 — currently the only Campbell winner to win their Hugo in the same year); Lucius Shepard (1985); Kristine Kathryn Rusch (1990); Ted Chiang (1992 — won a Nebula in 1991);  Elizabeth Bear (2005) and Mary Robinette Kowal (2008).

Additionally, at least two Campbell winners have won Hugos in non-fiction categories, without to date winning in fiction categories: Alexis Gilliland (Campbell 1982, Fan Artist Hugo winner) and Seanan McGuire (Campbell 2010, Fancast Hugo winner).

Campbell Winners who have won Nebulas (if they have not otherwise won a fiction Hugo): Lisa Tuttle (Campbell winner 1974; won but declined her Nebula); Tom Reamy (1976) and Karen Joy Fowler (1987). Campbell winners who have won World Fantasy Awards (if they have not otherwise won a Hugo or Nebula) include Stephen R. Donaldson (1979) Nalo Hopkinson (1999). Campbell winners who have won Clarke Awards  (if they have not otherwise won a Hugo or Nebula) include Jeff Noon (1995, won the Clarke in 1994) and Mary Doria Russell (1998).

So, for 42 Campbell winners to date, four have won the Best Novel Hugo, eleven have won fiction Hugos, thirteen(at least) have won Hugos of any sort and twenty (at least) have won Hugos, Nebulas, World Fantasy or Clarke Awards. And obviously this doesn’t consider the Campbell winners who were otherwise nominated for these various awards, which is roughly two thirds of them to date. All in all, that’s a pretty decent conversion rate for the Campbell Award.

(Not that the people who were nominated for the Campbell but didn’t win it should despair. Just ask Joan D. Vinge, David Brin or Lois McMaster Bujold, who went on to win Best novel Hugos, or consider George RR Martin, George Alec Effinger, John Varley, Bruce Sterling, Charles Sheffield, Michael Swanwick, Geoff Landis, Ian McDonald, Robert Reed, Allen Steele, David Levine, Tim Pratt or Brandon Sanderson (and probably others I have missed), who have Hugos in other fiction categories.)

Aaaaand now back to work on my novel.


Today’s Picture, 11/8/13

Lake Michigan, November 2013. Photo by Athena Scalzi.


“The Tale of the Wicked” in the 21st Century Science Fiction anthology

I would be remiss if I did not note that my story “The Tale of the Wicked” is in the new anthology 21st Century Science Fiction, edited by David G. Hartwell and Patrick Nielsen Hayden, which came out this week and is in available in North American bookstores (and maybe other places in the world; honestly I get confused about all that at this point).

Who else is in the book? Here’s the table of contents:

  • “Infinities” by Vandana Singh
  • “Rogue Farm” by Charles Stross
  • “The Gambler” by Paolo Bacigalupi
  • “Strood” by Neal Asher
  • “Eros, Philia, Agape” by Rachel Swirsky
  • “The Tale Of The Wicked” by John Scalzi
  • “Bread And Bombs” by M. Rickert
  • “The Waters Of Meribah” by Tony Ballantyne
  • “Tk’tk’tk” by David Levine
  • “The Nearest Thing” by Genevieve Valentine
  • “Erosion” by Ian Creasey
  • “The Calculus Plague” by Marissa Lingen
  • “One Of Our Bastards Is Missing” by Paul Cornell
  • “Tideline” by Elizabeth Bear
  • “Finisterra” by David Moles
  • “Evil Robot Monkey” by Mary Robinette Kowal
  • “The Education Of Junior Number 12″ by Madeline Ashby
  • “Toy Planes” by Tobias Buckell
  • “The Algorithms For Love” by Ken Liu
  • “The Albian Message” by Oliver Morton
  • “To Hie From Far Cilenia” by Karl Schroeder
  • “Savant Songs” by Brenda Cooper
  • “Ikiryoh” by Liz Williams
  • “The Prophet Of Flores” by Ted Kosmatka
  • “How To Become A Mars Overlord” by Catherynne M. Valente
  • “Second Person, Present Tense” by Daryl Gregory
  • “Third Day Lights” by Alaya Dawn Johnson
  • “Balancing Accounts” by James Cambias
  • “A Vector Alphabet Of Interstellar Travel” by Yoon Ha Lee
  • “His Master’s Voice” by Hannu Rajaniemi
  • “Plotters And Shooters” by Kage Baker
  • “The Island” by Peter Watts
  • “Escape To Other Worlds With Science Fiction” by Jo Walton
  • “Chicken Little” by Cory Doctorow

Yeah, that’s a line-up that does not suck. The collection has also gotten some stellar reviews, literally in the case of this starred review from Kirkus. It’s a fine survey of the current state of science fiction, and it’s nice to be part of showcase like this. Need I note it will be a fine gift for the holidays? I thought not.

Exit mobile version