Nebula Award Winners, 2015

Cutting and pasting from the official release. Congratulations to the winners; this is a fabulous slate.


The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America are pleased to announce the winners of the 2014 Nebula Awards (presented 2015), as well as the Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation, and the Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy.


Annihilation, Jeff VanderMeer (FSG Originals; Fourth Estate; Harper Collins Canada)

Yesterday’s Kin, Nancy Kress (Tachyon)

“A Guide to the Fruits of Hawai’i,” Alaya Dawn Johnson (F&SF 7-8/14)

Short Story
“Jackalope Wives”by Ursula Vernon (Apex 1/7/14)

Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation
Guardians of the Galaxy, Written by James Gunn and Nicole Perlman (Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures)

Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy
Love Is the Drug, Alaya Dawn Johnson (Levine)

2015 Damon Knight Grand Master Award
Larry Niven

Solstice Award
Joanna Russ (posthumous), Stanley Schmidt

Kevin O’Donnell Jr. Service Award
Jeffry Dwight

21 Comments on “Nebula Award Winners, 2015”

  1. Slate of winners is a different usage (Thank heavens) from slate from which to choose nominees.

  2. I wouldn’t be so sure about “no puppies.” But it looks like all the puppies are happy ones.

  3. Something I learned today: the object awarded for the Solstice award is one of Mike Libby’s Insect Lab pieces ( Very cool.

  4. John Samuel – Australia – An anime fan from the dim, dark, days of synopses and fifth generation VHS copies. I write a range of reviews at "Pirates of the Burley Griffin", check the blog for more.
    John Samuel

    Congratulations to all of the winners, and especially to Larry Niven & Joanna Russ.

  5. Yes; Ursula now has a Nebula to go with her Hugo and I’m absolutely thrilled for her. Congratulations to all the winners!

  6. Don’t mind the puppies! What about the SQUIRRELS? You should hire them as moderators while you’re away. They’ve got their own mallets and everything.

    But seriously, an impressive looking Nebula roster.

  7. I’m very happy about Annihilation. That novel has stayed with me, months after I finished reading it.

  8. And high time Larry Niven won the Grandmaster award. The man wrote outstanding stuff!

  9. Jeff VanderMeer is probably the big victim of the Sad/Rabid Puppy shenanigans. Then again, going from his writing about the trilogy, the genre publishers really wanted nothing to do with it either.

  10. Ana – Hello there! I am Ana, from Portugal and I absolutely love to read and review the books I come across, mostly here on Ana's Lair and Goodreads, but I will also post them on Amazon if requested. My favourite genres are psychological thrillers, some general fiction, horror and some fantasy and sci-fi, more particularly but not limited to dystopia and speculative fiction. I like books that make me think "what if...", fantasy that is believable, well built concepts. I am not a fan of romance, vampires or zombies. I guess you could say I am not a fan of YA in general, as it always seems to feature at least one of those. Ultimately, I am in it for the world and the story. I could not care less whether the guy is hot or not. I am always utterly honest in my reviews, for better or for worse, and do my best to justify the rating I give. I have found that Netgalley keeps me plenty occupied so I very rarely take on new books, especially if I feel I will not enjoy them and therefore will not be able to present a positive review, so please don't take it to heart if I do not accept your offer. That's about it, thank you for your time and I hope we can chat sometime!

    Reblogged this on Ana's Lair and commented:
    I don’t usually keep track of this stuff, but in case anyone does, here are the results.

    Annihilation has been on my TBR list for a while, but I have yet to go buy it.

    Have you read this book or any of the other winners?
    What is your take on these awards?

  11. Thank you, guys! Honestly, it was an honor just to stand alongside the other nominees and have the voters think I deserved to be there.

Exit mobile version