Categories
Uncategorized

Whatever Holiday Shopping Guide 2018 Starts Monday!

Every year as the holiday season begins I run a shopping guide for the holidays, and over the years it’s been quite successful: Lots of people have found out about excellent books and crafts and charities and what have you, making for excellent gift-giving opportunities during the holiday season. I’ve decided to do it again this year.

So: Starting Monday, December 3, the Whatever Holiday Shopping Guide Returns! If you’re a writer or other creator, this will be an excellent time to promote your work on a site which gets tens of thousands of viewers daily, almost all of whom will be interested in stuff for the holidays. If you’re someone looking to give gifts, you’ll see lots of excellent ideas. And you’ll also have a day to suggest stuff to other folks too. Everybody wins!

To give you all time to prepare, here’s the schedule of what will be promoted on which days:

Monday, December 3: Traditionally Published Authors — If your work is being published by a publisher a) who is not you and b) gets your books into actual, physical bookstores on a returnable basis, this is your day to tell people about your books. This includes comics/graphic novels.

Tuesday, December 4: Non-Traditionally Published Authors — Self-published? Electronically published? Or other? This is your day. This also includes comics/graphic novels.

Wednesday, December 5: Other Creators — Artists, knitters, jewelers, musicians, and anyone who has cool stuff to sell this holiday season, this will be the day to show off your creations.

Thursday, December 6: Fan Favorite Day — Not an author/artist/musician/other creator but know about some really cool stuff you think people will want to know about for the holidays? Share! Share with the crowd!

Friday, December 7: Charities — If you are involved in a charity, or have a favorite charity you’d like to let people know about, this is the day to do it.

If you have questions about how all of this will work, go ahead and ask them in the comment thread (Don’t start promoting your stuff today — it’s not time yet), although I will note that specific instructions for each day will appear on that day. Don’t worry, it’ll be pretty easy. Thanks and feel free to share this post with creative folks who will have things to sell this holiday season.

By John Scalzi

I enjoy pie.

30 replies on “Whatever Holiday Shopping Guide 2018 Starts Monday!”

Hi John, I have a contemporary romance box set. 10% of the sales go to the National Coalition for the Homeless – there’s a relevant subplot in book 1.

[Link deleted because we haven’t started yet and I don’t want this thread to be about commerce — JS]

Would love to be included. Thank you for doing this!

What if we’re looking for something specific that your readers/posters could help with? Like “I want guitar sheet music similar to the A Star is Born soundtrack for my husband”, as a PURELY hypothetical example?

Hi John! My name is Paula Billups – I am an artist and a friend of Angelique Jamail. She let me know about you. I have three self-published books from my imprint. Two have the profits going to charity, and one is fiction, so not sure what deadline I would be aiming at, but Ange suggested I get in touch. Cheers!

I have a traditionally published viral-apocalypse book that is perfect for the holidays! When you need an escape from the cozy fire, the warmth of mulled beverages, and the safety of monster-free family gatherings, come to my world.

A great gift for fans of Michael Crichton’s “The Andromeda Strain”, Robert Kirkman’s “The Walking Dead”, Steven Soderberg’s “Contagion”, and the “Resident Evil” franchise.

https://mkmartinwriter.com/books/

What time does the holiday shopping guide post appear each day? Or do you keep that secret, so we don’t all line up to hit the comment stream at the exact same time, risking breaking the internet for all of the USA? Because that would be so unkind of us.

MISTLETOE AND MAGIC: A holiday anthology by YA Books Central authors. My short story A SHOT OF MAGIC introduces readers to a new god that will appear in book three of the GODDESSES series. It’s available in ebook and print format:
https://www.amazon.com/Mistletoe-Magic-Central-Holiday-Anthology-ebook/dp/B07K23DV7G/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1543959920&sr=8-2&keywords=mistletoe+and+magic

Also the books in the GODDESSES series are available:

Book One:Jordan Lake discovers an ancient bracelet in her grandmother’s house and uncovers a family mystery that links her favorite actress, Audrey Hepburn, a romantic movie, and an aunt she never knew. Jordan hopes the bracelet will bring her love. Instead, it brings one nightmare after another, unleashing Hathor, the Egyptian love goddess, who decides it’s fun to mess with the McKnight High School social scene.

https://www.amazon.com/No-More-Goddesses-Kim-Baccellia-ebook/dp/B00DKC20WQ/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1543960049&sr=1-1&keywords=No+more+goddesses

Book Two Takes place in Paris!
https://www.amazon.com/Goddesses-Wait-Myths-Mayhem-Book-ebook/dp/B071V5DX1J/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1543959995&sr=8-1&keywords=goddesses+can+wait

Comments are closed.

Exit mobile version